Texas CHL course
The Concealed Handgun License Classes at Off Duty Armory are taught in a single session morning or afternoon class every Saturday (excluding holidays), and one Monday each month from 8:00AM to approx. 1:30PM for the morning session and 2:00PM to approx. 7:30PM for the afternoon session by Texas D.P.S. Certified Instructors. There is no longer a required course needed to renew your existing Texas CHL, however this course is a great refresher for existing license holders needing to renew their Texas CHL. There have been numerous changes in Texas laws in 2013 relating to CHL and firearms and you are required to sign a sworn affidavit upon renewing attesting to your knowledge of the laws and Penal Codes pertaining to Texas CHL. Your $99.00 fee includes the State mandated 4 -6 hours of instruction for original licensees, classroom proficiency test, B-27 qualification target, hearing protection, eye protection and 50 rd. shooting proficiency test on our state of the art, climate controlled, indoor range. Renewal/Refresher fee is $80.00 and does not include shooting proficiency or classroom proficiency testing, as this is not required by the State of Texas. Class fees are non-refundable as are licensing fees paid to Texas Dept. of Public Safety. Class reschedules are permitted with at least 24 hrs. cancellation notice. Private and “ladies only” classes are available for parties of 5 or more. E-mail us for details on private classes. Click on “Schedule” link on website to see full schedule of classes.
What you need to bring to class
You will need to provide a .32 caliber or larger handgun (unloaded and cased before entering premises), 50 rounds of ammunition and personal eye and ear protection (shared eye/ear protection is provided for indoor range). Ammunition must be brass or nickel cased. No aluminum or steel cased or steel core ammunition is allowed. Off Duty Armory has quality handguns available for rent for $15.00 ea. and we sell all calibers of ammunition. (You must use ammunition purchased from us for rental handguns).
This class does NOT provide instruction for specific handgun operation; you must be proficient with a handgun prior to taking the class. If you have never shot a handgun before or are a novice with little experience, we strongly recommend our Pre CHL Basic Handgun class or a private lesson before attending the CHL class.
NOTICE: As of March 1, 2011, DPS will only accept electronic fingerprints through L1 Identity Solutions. You can schedule your appointment when you complete your application online with the Texas Department of Public Safety at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us.
Register for your class today!
location & hours
2865 SW Wilshire Blvd. | Burleson, TX 76028
(817) 295-3373 | email@example.com
Mon - Fri 10am - 7pm | Sat 10am - 7pm (Range opens at 11am)
Tuesdays Ladies Shoot Free 5-7pm
upcoming special events
TEACHERS, SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS AND SCHOOL EMPLOYEES ARE NOW RECEIVING OUR MILITARY, LAW ENFORCEMENT AND FIRST RESPONDER RANGE DISCOUNT!! PLEASE SHOW YOUR ID AT RANGE!!
- Jewelry store owner fells robber, The San Francisco Chronicle, San Francisco, Calif. 04/12/14, The San Jose Mercury News, San Jose, Calif. 04/11/14 April 15, 2014
- Connecticut not yet ready to enforce gun law April 15, 2014
- Texas: Legislature likely to debate open carry, campus carry laws next year April 15, 2014
- Kentucky: Comprehensive Pro-Gun Reform Signed into Law Last Week April 14, 2014
- Rhode Island: Senate and House Committees to Hear Over a Dozen Gun Bills this Week April 14, 2014